New Year, New Assignments


By Heather Clower
The Parsons Advocate

The Tucker County Commission commenced early on January 2 to kick 2019 off on the right foot in a special meeting of the commissioners.  Though the agenda was short, it held important topics to set the tone for the next twelve months and who would be assigned to boards and committees.

Picture courtesy of Sherry Simmons, the 2019 Tucker County Commissioners

County Clerk Sherry Simmons called the meeting to order, followed by Commissioner Patrick Darlington nominating fellow Commissioner Lowell Moore to serve as Commission President.  Commissioner Fred Davis second the motion, awarding Moore the position.  “It will be a great honor to serve.”,stated Moore.  He continued by welcoming newly elected Commissioner Davis to the position.  “We are a team and we will all work well together.”, Moore said.

Meeting schedules were then discussed and will remain as follows:  second Wednesdays of the month at 9 a.m., and fourth Wednesdays of the month, commencing at 4 p.m.  There will only be one meeting held the months of November and December to allow for the holidays, which will be November 13 and December 18, both at 9 a.m.  The 2019 pay schedule was also reviewed and unanimously approved, as well as Thursday, December 12 serving as the date for the Annual Courthouse Christmas Dinner.

Assignments were made for the community boards and committees.  Moore will serve on the following:  Board of Health, EMS Ambulance Authority Board, Flood Steering Committee, Tucker County Community Corrections Board, Randolph/Tucker Partnership for Hazard Mitigation, Region VII Planning and Development, WVU Extension Agent Board, and Tucker County Culture District.  Darlington will serve as part of the Corridor H Authority, Convention Visitors Bureau, Development Authority, E-911 Advisory Council, Parks and Recreation, Planning Commission, Wage and Hour Board, and Workforce Investment Board.  Davis will be serving on the following:  Animal Control, Canaan Valley PSD, Heart of the Highlands Committee, Historic Landmark Commission, LEPC, and the Solid Waste Authority.  For the standing committees, Moore will serve on County Finance, Darlington on County Personnel, and Davis on County Facilities.

The 2019 calendar of meetings can be found on the website at and work sessions will also be listed as scheduled.  All meetings take place at the Tucker County Courthouse court room and are always open to the public.  The first general meeting for the commission will be Wednesday, January 9 at 9 a.m.