Hebb, Flanagan, Nichols, Freeman, Darlington, White, and CVR Employees to be honored by Chamber of Commerce

The Tucker County Chamber of Commerce is excited to announce the recipients for the 36th Annual Chamber Awards. The banquet will be on Thursday evening, May 15, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. at Canaan Valley Resort. Tickets are only $35 and can be purchased at the Information Center in Davis or by calling 304-259-5315. The Chamber has solicited nominations for six different categories, the secret committee has met and the results are in!

2014 Educator of the Year is Cathy Markam Hebb. Ms. Hebb was described by one nomination “…a truly dedicated educator who has dedicated most of her life to her students.” and further states “She would challenge her students on a daily basis, and regardless of the difficulty of the concept or the student, all left her class with a great knowledge of the subject”. Mountain Hospice is the proud sponsor of this award.

Ben Flanagan and Ian Nichols are being recognized as the 2014 Students of the Year. Said one nomination for Mr. Flanagan, “Overall, Ben is that one-of-a-kind young man that everyone loves to be around.” A nomination for Mr. Nichols shared “As a student, Ian demonstrates a love of learning and the level of commitment necessary to succeed in college and beyond”. Western Pocahontas Properties and Roxanne Tuesing will be sponsoring these awards this year.

2014 Employee of the Year goes to Wanda Freeman. Wanda is employed at the Tucker County Department of Highways, and one of the nominators said, “She also goes in on weekends many times during the winter months due to the potential for hazardous conditions in our county” and “She has been employed with the Division of Highways for nearly 27 years and has always done her absolute best each and every day”. Blackwater Falls State Park is the proud sponsor for Ms. Freeman’s award.

The 2014 Business Person of the Year is awarded to Patrick Darlington. Mr. Darlington owns and operates Performance Chevrolet and Davis High Valley Realty is the sponsor of this award. “…he is always ready to go the extra mile for anyone, he works hard every day to make his business and the county a better place…” said one nomination.

The 2014 Community Service Award, sponsored by Mon. General Heath Systems, will be awarded to Kevin White of Parsons. One nomination read, “Kevin has spent many years as a volunteer fireman and is currently Chief. Kevin is also president of the Tucker County Athletic Boosters an was part of the group who worked to obtain funding and labor for our bleachers at RH Armstrong Field”

The 2014 “Tuckineer” remains a surprise and will be announced at the 36th Annual Awards Banquet that will be held Thursday evening, May 15, 2014 at 6:30 at Canaan Valley Resort. Citizens Bank of West Virginia is the sponsor of this prestigious award.

This year, there will be two special recognitions “above and beyond” the usual line up.

The entire staff of Canaan Valley Resort State Park will be recognized with the 2014 Travel & Tourism Award . Said one nomination, “…Canaan Valley Resort has (undergone) a magnificent renovation with new lodge rooms, along with renovations to the conference center and ski area. The facility remained open to the public through the whole process. The Guest Services team provided remarkable service and work throughout the 2.5 year process.”

For more information or to reserve your tickets, contact the Chamber office at 259-5315 prior to the end of business Monday May 12.